Academic Catalog 2020-2021

Student Involvement

The Office of Student Involvement coordinates and assists students in planning social, cultural, educational, and recreational programs. Student activities at Pratt are planned to contribute to each student’s total education, as well as to meet social and recreational needs. Students are responsible for managing their own group activities, thus gaining experience in community and social affairs and playing a role in shaping Institute policy. Students are represented on Institute decision-making bodies such as the Board of Trustees, trustee committees, and the strategic planning committee.

The main functions of the Depart­ment of Student Involvement are:

  • Allocating and administering the funds collected through the student activity fee
  • Overseeing the Student Union complex
  • Programming of student activities
  • Promoting leadership and professional development
  • Coordinating community-service opportunities

New Student Orientation

New student orientation is an exciting time at Pratt. In order to acclimate to Pratt, students have an orientation experience throughout the summer and on both the Brooklyn and Manhattan campuses in August prior to classes starting.

The orientation program is staffed by an exemplary group of student leaders who assist new students in many ways.

Parent and Family Programs

The mission of Parent and Family Programs at Pratt is to provide parents with the resources to support and encourage the success of their Pratt students. Pratt Institute recognizes that parents are valuable members of the Pratt community and have much to contribute to Pratt. We offer programs for parents including Parent Orientation and our annual Family Weekend. For further information, please visit the Parent and Family website at www.pratt.edu/family, or email family@pratt.edu.


Director
Emma Legge
elegge@pratt.edu

Associate Directors
Andrew Fulton
afulton@pratt.edu

Alex Ullman
aullman@pratt.edu

Assistant Director
Taylor Maultz
tmaultz@pratt.edu

Pratt Manhattan Student Affairs Coordinator
Ian Flinn
tflinn@pratt.edu

Office
Tel: 718.636.3422
involvement@pratt.edu
www.pratt.edu/involvement